Phoenix Vs Boca Juniors: July 23

27 May

Our beloved Wellington Phoenix have just announced that they are going to play a friendly against South American heavy weights Boca Juniors.

Date: July 23, 2010
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Kickoff: 7.30pm NZT

I will definitely make the trip down from Auckland for the game.  Unfortunately goonix will be in Europe drinking red wine and eating cheese since he likes to pretend he’s French.  So it will just be me and Nolan flying the flag.

I doubt the crowd will be as big as what we got for Beckham, Boca just don’t have the same profile as golden balls. Riquelme is an amazing player but I doubt the average fair weather football fan (who are needed for a sell out) will have heard of him.  In this regard it’s good to hear that the Phoenix are realistic about crowd numbers (Tony P reckons 20k) and also don’t face any financial risk.

I think ideally we need to get a big European team (Nolan:  LFC) to come here to really raise the profile of the Phoenix to the next level.

9 Responses to “Phoenix Vs Boca Juniors: July 23”

  1. rauparaha May 27, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    As an avowed FWFF I am far more excited about seeing Boca play than the LA Galaxy – who’d heard of them before Beckham, anyway?

  2. agnitio May 27, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Thanks for coining a new acronym:)

    I think the purists will be much more interested in seeing Boca. I personally think seeing Boca will be amazing. The skill level of some of those guys is amazing.

    Unfortunately, most people are more interested in seeing someone famous. The upside is that tickets will be cheaper than the Beckham game I imagine.

  3. Felicity May 27, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Boo! I’ll be in Europe too. Well, I’ll be in London, drinking warm beer and eating curry and pretending I’m not JAFKIL*.

    * Just Another Fucking Kiwi in London

  4. Tcol May 28, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    lol Phoenix 2 – 0 Scouse

    • nolan83 May 28, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

      LFC 1 – Phoenix 0

      Gamebreaker is an EPIC McKain own goal.

      • goonix May 28, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

        More chance of that than N’Gog scoring, I guess.

        • Tcol May 30, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

          Hahaha. Nice one

  5. nolan83 May 28, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    Yo, N’Gog is a quality player and all – I’m just trying to limit the damage to my dear Phoenix following a game against the mightiest side in football.

  6. dtaylor84 May 28, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    What!!!… Boca Juniors, Fuck that! I wanted River Plate!…

    Nah just kidding. Should be a good night.

Leave a Reply

